Sleep sound

I was woken from my sleep again by shouting from next door.
“Wake up!” she yelled. “Get up!” she screamed. “You’re no good any more.”

The last people I lived next to were kindly, gentle folk.
The most I really overheard was Sunday evening’s poke.

I lived above an old man once whose legs were amputated.
His daughter stayed there, smoked a lot, he sleep-talked while sedated.

Considering in abstract all the ways we intersect,
The bits of life we hear and share, the private sound’s effect –

I wonder if in quiet times they can hear me through the wall,
And if I seem a happy chap, or make no sound at all.

(c) me

25 responses to “Sleep sound

  1. Three words for you….print, bind and publish

  2. Good – another one to add to the collection.
    Love the words – eat your heart out J Betjamen.
    x

  3. Very nice – Reminds me a little of ‘Bagpipe Music’ by Louis Macniece. Check it, I think you’ll like it x

  4. live, dynamic, and smart piece…
    well done.

    I invite you to participate in poets rally week 34.
    follow the ping back link and place your poem in,
    poetry awards are assigned upon completion.
    Happy Monday!
    The Deadline is Wednesday

  5. Pingback: Agreement 4 Thursday Poets Rally Week 34 Participants | Promising Poets' Parking Lot

  6. have your entry linked in, have fun visiting….
    participant list is your target, scan it and comment on those you like most….
    include your entry link along with your comment so that they get back to you easily…
    Happy Tuesday!
    Glad to have you share your talent with poets rally.

  7. Took me back to apartment-living days. Well thought-out and constructed, Jack.

  8. Awesome. Loved it. Never read a poem like that before and now that makes me want to go in a whole different direction!!

  9. brilliant poem there 🙂
    the depth of the words.. beautiful

    M here from Jingle’s Rally

  10. Brilliant Jack–wonderful poem, superb rhythm and excellent subject matter. Wow. x

  11. Very interesting 🙂 unique.

  12. I loved this poem, my favorite so far, I adore story-like poetry, and well-written rhymes make me happy :)))

    -Luke

  13. It’s sad to know that there are daughters and sons who treat their parents like pigs and slaves.
    I love how you picture out the scene. 🙂

  14. I LOVE ponderings like this! The things other people don’t think about.

  15. love your blog, your poetry is impressive!
    Make a contribution to us today, the collection is to be closed within 24 hours.
    Thanks, we value your support. xxx

    welcome back, best regards…
    🙂

Leave a comment