John Cage: Thirteen Harmonies

John Cage (1912-1992): Thirteen Harmonies, for violin and keyboard (1985).
A selction of 13 out of a total of 44 Harmonies from Apartment House 1776. Roger Zahab made the selection and created a version for violin and keyboard. The selected Harmonies are:

1. Nr.18 – Old North (William Billings)
2. Nr.42 – Rapture (Collection Belcher)
3. Nr.26 – Judea (William Billings)
4. Nr.21 – Heath (William Billings)
5. Nr.19 – New York (Andrew Law)
6. Nr.5 – The Lord Descended (William Billings)
7. Nr.11 – Wheeler’s Point (William Billings)
8. Nr.14 – Brunswick (James Lyon)
9. Nr.15 – Bellingham (William Billings)
10. Nr.28 – Greenwich (Andrew Law)
11. Nr.35 – Framingham (William Billings)
12. Nr.38 – The Lord is Ris’n (William Billings)
13. Nr.44 – Bloomfield (Andrew Law)

Annelie Gahl, violino
Klaus Lang, pianoforte elettrico (Fender Rhodes).

Cover image: painting by Blinky Palermo.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s